IN THE CRIMINAL COURT FOR SULLIVAN COUNTY

AT BLOUNTVILLE, TENNESSEE

STATE OF TENNESSEE




:








:

VS







:
CASE NO. __________________









:

____________________________________


:

Defendant


I acknowledge receipt of a copy of this written notice of the punishment for DUI convictions in Tennessee.  I understand and have been advised in open court that the punishment for Driving Under the Influence of an Intoxicant in Tennessee is as follows:


(a) Any person who is convicted of a first offense of DUI in Tennessee shall be fined not less than $350.00 nor more than $1,500.00 and be confined in the county jail not less than 48 hours nor more than 11 months and 29 days; and such person shall lose driving privileges for one year.


(b) Any person who is convicted of a second offense of DUI in Tennessee within ten years shall be fined not less than $600.00 nor more than $3,500.00 and be confined in the county jail not less than 45 days nor more than 11 months and 29 days; and such person shall lose driving privileges for two years.


(c) Any person convicted of a third offense of DUI in Tennessee shall be fined not less than $1,100.00 nor more than $10,000.00 and be confined in the county jail not less than 120 days nor more than 11 months and 29 days; and such person shall lose driving privileges for not less than six years nor more than ten years.


(d) Any person convicted of a fourth or subsequent offense of DUI in Tennessee shall be guilty of a Class E felony, shall be fined not less than $3,000.00 nor more than $15,000.00 and shall be confined for not less than 150 consecutive days nor more than the maximum punishment authorized for the appropriate range; and such person shall be prohibited from operating a motor vehicle for a period of eight years.


(e) In determining whether a conviction for DUI is a second or subsequent offense, it does not matter whether the prior offense occurred in Tennessee or in another state.  For purposes of enhancement of punishment for a second or subsequent offense, the court shall consider all prior DUI offenses regardless of where the prior offense occurred.


(f) If a multiple DUI offender has a prior conviction for DUI within five (5) years of his present conviction, such person must be evaluated for drug and alcohol treatment and undergo treatment as appropriate.


(g) If a multiple DUI offender has a prior conviction for DUI within five (5) years of his present conviction, such person will be prohibited from operating any motor vehicle not equipped with a functioning interlock device for six months after his driving privileges are restored.


(h) In addition to all other fines, fees, costs and punishments prescribed by law a conviction for DUI, any person convicted of DUI must pay an alcohol and drug addiction treatment fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00).

DATE: ________________________



_____________________________________











Defendant









_____________________________________









 
    Attorney for Defendant
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